Srinivas Aluru

Professor in the School of Computational Science and Engineering, and an Adjunct Professor in the school of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Georgia Tech

Dr. Srinivas Aluru is a professor in the School of Computational Science and Engineering, and an adjunct professor in the school of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology. He co-directs the Georgia Tech Interdisciplinary Research Institute in Data Engineering and Science (IDEaS), and co-leads the NSF South Big Data Regional Innovation Hub (South BD Hub) which serves 16 Southern States and Washington D.C. Aluru conducts research in high performance computing, large-scale data analysis, bioinformatics and systems biology, combinatorial scientific computing, and applied algorithms. He pioneered the development of parallel methods in bioinformatics and systems biology, and contributed to assembly of genomes and metagenomes, next generation sequencing bioinformatics, and gene network inference and analysis. His contributions in scientific computing lie in parallel fast multipole method, domain decomposition methods, spatial data structures, and applications in computational electromagnetics and materials informatics.

An early pioneer in big data, Aluru led one of the eight inaugural mid-scale NSF-NIH Big Data projects awarded in the first round of federal big data investments in 2012. He has contributed to NITRD and OSTP led white house workshops, and NSF and DOE led efforts to create and nurture big data research. He serves on the editorial boards of the IEEE Transactions on Big Data, IEEE Transactions on Parallel and Distributed Systems, Journal of Parallel and Distributed Computing, and the International Journal of Data Mining and Bioinformatics. He is currently serving as the Chair of the ACM Special Interest Group on Bioinformatics, Computational Biology and Biomedical Informatics (SIGBIO). He is a recipient of the NSF Career award, IBM faculty award, Swarnajayanti Fellowship from the Government of India, and the Outstanding Senior Faculty Research award and the Dean’s award for faculty excellence at Georgia Tech. He is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), and is a recipient of the IEEE Computer Society meritorious service award.