Ian Akyildiz

Byers Professor

Ian F. Akyildiz received his B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees in computer engineering from the University of Erlangen-Nuernberg, Germany, in 1978, 1981, and 1984, respectively. He is the Ken Byers Professor with the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology, where he chairs the telecommunications group and leads the Broadband Wireless Networking Laboratory.

Within the last five years, Dr. Akyildiz has been named to several honorary faculty positions around the globe. In 2013, hewas appointed as a FiDiPro Professor (Finland Distinguished Professor Program) at Tampere University of Technology (TUT), Department of Communications Engineering and the founder of the Nano Communications Center; FiDiPro is supported by the Academy of Finland. Since 2008, Dr. Akyildiz has been an Honorary Professor with the School of Electrical Engineering-Telecom BCN at Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya in Barcelona (Spain) and the founder of the N3C (NaNoNetworking Center in Catalunya). Dr. Akyildiz has also served as a consulting chair professor with the King Abdulaziz University, Jeddah, Saudi Arabia since 2011. Between 2009-12, he was an honorary professor with the Department of Electrical, Electronic, and Computer Engineering at the University of Pretoria, South Africa and founded the Advanced Sensor Networks Lab. 

Dr. Akyildiz currently serves as editor-in-chief of Computer Networks Journal and as founding editor-in-chief of Ad Hoc Networks Journal, Physical Communication Journal, and Nanocommunication Networks Journal. He is a former editor for IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking, Kluwer Journal of Cluster Computing, ACM-Springer Journal for Multimedia Systems, IEEE Transactions on Computers, and ACM-Springer Journal of Wireless Networks.

Dr. Akyildiz was the technical program chair of the Ninth IEEE Computer Communications Workshop in 1994, ACM MobiCom '96 (Mobile Computing and Networking) Conference, IEEE INFOCOM '98 (Computer Networking Conference), and IEEE ICC 2003 (International Conference on Communications). He also was the general chair for the premier conference in wireless networking, ACM MobiCom in 2002. He is the co-founder of the ACM SenSys (Sensor Systems) Conference and was general co-chair of the ACM SenSys in 2003. He was also the general chair for the Third Med Hoc (Mediterranean Conference on Ad Hoc Networks) in Bodrum, Turkey in 2004, and the general chair for the IFIP Networking 2007 Conference in Atlanta.